Unique, quietly stunning music that stays with you.
— Popmatters

Born in Cali, Colombia, John Wolfington grew up in Washington DC and moved to New York in 1996.

 In 2001 his first solo album John Wolfington was released on Smells Like Records to glowing reviews, and featured the crack rhythm section of Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth) on drums and Tim Foljahn (Cat Power, Townes Van Zandt) on bass.

Between touring alongside bands like Luna and Arab Strap, John then relocated to Los Angeles where he collaborated with Eric Erlandson (Hole) and contributed music to Fischerspooner’s 2005 album Odyssey.

He returned to NYC in 2005 and set about his second long player American Dreamsicle, recorded with the same personnel and released in 2007 to even wider critical acclaim than its predecessor. Opening track ‘Danger’ was used on the TV show ‘The Beast’ starring Patrick Swayze, though John’s more of a ‘Sons of Anarchy’ fan.



His third solo album Animal was recorded live at home and is being released in early 2012 with videos to accompany each song.

Previously released on Smells Like Records:

 American Dreamsicle (2007)

“Crushed emotions, of a piece with Neil Young’s “On the Beach”” (Time Out New York)

“This will easily end up being one of the best releases of 2007. Highly recommended” (LMNOP)

John Wolfington (2001)

“Unique, quietly stunning music that stays with you.” (Popmatters)

 “A fine album that indie fans of all sorts will enjoy.” (Music Emissions)